- Arlington, Massachusetts
- Billerica, Massachusetts
- Framingham, Massachusetts
- Salem, Massachusetts
- Winthrop, Massachusetts
- Worcester, Massachusetts
If you have been injured in a car accident, you should initially file a claim with the insurer of the car in which you were riding. Drivers in Massachusetts are required to carry certain mandatory amounts of auto insurance coverage including Personal Injury Protection. This is sometimes referred to as no-fault insurance. PIP covers the medical bills for each person in the car who is injured in an accident. Regardless of who caused the accident, the insurance company should cover your medical bills for personal injuries and may cover a portion of your lost wages up to $8,000 per person, according to the terms of the policy.
If your injuries are more serious and exceed $2,000 or meet certain conditions such as involving broken bones, spinal cord injury, serious disfigurement, eye damage or hearing loss, burn injuries, then you may be entitled to file a car accident lawsuit and seek compensation for your injuries and other losses if another driver was at fault in the accident.
All drivers in the state of Massachusetts have a legal responsibility to operate their cars with reasonable care so they do not put other at risk. If a driver shirks his or her legal duty and drivers in a careless manner such as speeding running a traffic light, the driver is considered to be negligent in the eyes of the law.
In some car accidents, more than one driver or other party is partially at fault. Massachussetts uses the legal doctrine of comparative fault in these cases. A jury will be instructed to determine the degree of fault that each party bears for causing an accident. In the Commonwealth, you may still collect damages in a car accident lawsuit so long as you are no more that 50 percent responsible for causing of your injuries. If you are found to be partly responsible, any car accident compensation you are awarded would be reduced proportionately by your percentage of fault.
For example, if a Suffolk County jury awarded $100,000 in damages and found that you were 25 percent at fault for causing your own injuries, then you would be entitled to recieve $75,000 in damages.
For minor accidents, Massachusetts handles most of them under No Fault rules. In this situation drivers cannot take each other to court for auto accidents unless the following conditions occur:
You have incurred $2,000 or more in medical bills or other expenses.
You have suffered a serious injury as the result of a Boston auto accident which can include loss of hearing or vision, broken bones and or permanent disfigurement.
The state of Massachusetts has a few specific requirements for car insurance to make sure residents have coverage that is adequate in case they are involved in an accident. These requirements are in place to protect you but can quickly increase the cost of your policy's rates depending on the limits you choose. If you're a safe driver you will probably be eligible for a discount on your insurance premium.
You must carry the following 4 types of insurance if you own a vehicle in the state of Massachusetts:
per person in an accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is coverage that will cover you or your passenger's injuries caused in an auto accident. This coverage is there regardless of who is at fault.
You have three years from the date of your auto accident to file a car accident claim in a Massachusetts court. This statue of limitations is your deadline and is the same three years for wrongful death and product liability cases. The deadline may be extended in special circumstances to allow for discovery of an injury if it was not detectable until long after the crash.
For claims againts a government entity. claims must be handled within 30 days of the accident or injury.
Dealing with a insurance company that has denied your claim can be extremely frustrating. If you are trying to recover from a serious injury such as broken bones, it can add to your stress and slow your recovery. It is important to understand why your claim was denied.
You should seek the help of a Boston car accident lawyer if another driver's insurance company has denied your claim. An experienced attorney can review the facts regarding the auto accident claim and explain whether you